Home

8late

Last week I was fortunate to attend the RIBA Royal Gold Medal Student Critique with the Gold Medal winner Peter Zumthor. Listening to him review the work of the winning students reminded me of just how inspired I am by his approach to architecture, which for me is most notably defined by his mastery of atmosphere created within beautifully made buildings. It is this ability to heighten emotive response to space through craft that reminded me of the Ancient Greek term Techne and made me question its existence within his Thermal Baths project in Vals, a piece of architecture so strong in my mind that the experience is still with me 5 years after visiting them.

Techne in Mythical times

Techne is an ancient Greek term that describes the holistic unification of both the mental process of design and the physical process of making, as performed by one person. It…

View original post 1,585 more words

Leave a Reply

